A relaxing weekend…from someone else’s perspective….

Standard

I think there is something about this time of year which can make everything feel crazy and way too busy. For me it just means that when I get a break, even if it’s for a few minutes I’ve got to grab hold with both hands and no one’s gonna take it from me!

This weekend I was fortunate, I had a relaxing weekend with not a lot on (partly because I had an awful headache on Saturday so couldn’t actually do anything!). But it was well appreciated! I spent time doing this and that, researching publishers, which always takes me way longer than I expect, and just having a random web surf. I don’t know if you know what I mean by that last one, but sometimes, do you just search for something, then click on another link, then another and not actually know how you got there?

I do that. A lot. It actually helps me learn lots.

On my weekend surf I found a really interesting couple of sites, firstly I need to explain why I found these interesting. I have been very challenged recently by other people’s blogs and by life’s events in general on my view of certain health issues that everyday people have to deal with. I sometimes watch that supernanny show on tv and think – OH! those kids need some discipline. Sometimes that’s true I guess, but what I find really challenging is understanding some of the problems some of the kids have. For instance ADHD (Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder).

adhd

It’s a pretty ominous abbreviation that one, and I think carries with it a lot of misunderstanding, as far as I can admit from myself and tell of others. I know that before I have fallen into that trap of believing that ADHD isn’t a real health issue. I know that probably sounds awful to those of you who have had personal experience of it. All I can plead is ignorance….That is, until a little while ago while web surfing. I found this site about ADHD which I found INCREDIBLY helpful and really understandable. I think it’s one of the first times I ever heard an explanation of ADHD which literally told me everything I needed to know.

adhd

I felt so challenged by it, to understand exactly what’s going on with a child suffering from it, how a parent is coping with it and actually the success stories of those with ADHD.

Don’t get me wrong, one of my really good friends has ADHD, I love him! Whenever he comes over he sits with this cushion we have, one filled with little beads, and plays with it while he’s talking to you, it keeps him amused so he can sit and talk rather than want to be up and doing things (he told me this himself). But reading this website really did help my understanding of the behavioural disorder.

adhd

It’s amazing when you get a chance to see things from another’s perspective and over the weekend I think I got a glimpse of that…

[A blog I would most definitely recommend – http://happyhomemakeruk.blogspot.com]

2 responses »

    • Hey, no worries – sorry it was on so unrelated a blog! I’m posting another up in a couple of days so I’ll pop you on the bottom of that one too. Thanks for reading the blog 🙂 Lizzy x

Leave a Reply

