Downton Abbey Series 2

Standard

Downton Abbey series 2 hit the screens of TVs yesterday and I did not know about it!

Granted I am not exactly fabulous at knowing what’s going on on the old moving box as I find myself most of the time aggravated by the amount of rubbish on the TV these days. However, Downton Abbey is one of the very few exceptions.

Julian Fellowes is the writer behind the complex storylines and confrontations between upper and lower stairs characters. The man manages to weaves in numerous plot-lines seamlessly, with an ability to have you captivated by each character and easily being able to follow their lives among the myriad of others.

Of course it’s on the news now that Downton has managed to swipe both the Outstanding Writing in a Mini-Series Award and the Best Supporting Actress at the Annual Emmy Awards in Los Angeles.

I believe Fellowes really did deserve that award for his brilliant writing and Dame Maggie Smith….What else can I say?

Quite a lot actually. Dame Maggie Smith is one of those actresses that time and again just blows you away and for some reason manages to act brilliantly in any role given her. Below is a picture of her as the pushy, aristocratic mother of the Lord of Downton Abbey. Violet (Dame Maggie Smith) stands in the centre in purple while her son, Robert Earl of Grantham (Hugh Bonneville), stands to her right, his wife Cora Countess of Grantham (Elizabeth McGovern) beside him and Thomas (Rob James-Collier) the shadey servant. On Violet’s left, her grand-daughter, Lady Mary (Michelle Dockery), the servant Anna (Joanne Froggatt) and the honourable valet, John Bates (Brendan Coyle).

Downton Abbey Series 2 - Lizzy Bradbury

Downton Abbey Series 2

I am excited about this series and comparing it to something like Eastenders – Well there’s no comparison is there? At least Eastenders have done something worth-while in their recent storyline by having Tanya Jessop realistically diagnosed with Cervical Cancer – They have even been working with a Charity named Jo’s Trust behind the scenes to ensure they accurately reflect the disease and help to raise awareness for it – For the first time I hear myself cheering them on!

Anyway, back to Downton, I shall be relaxing this evening, having a bath, pampering myself and most definitely catching up on the TV series which I can’t believe I missed!

 

2 responses »

  1. Hi lovely,

    I tried to email you but your email isn’t linked up to your blog when you comment on my blog….so I hope you don’t mind me leaving a long explanation in your comments!

    A link party is where you find the url of your relevant post and come over to the link party host and follow the instructions (very basic, don’t worry!). It puts a little thumbnail picture and title on the hosts blof (both chosen by you as part of the process – again, don’t worry, it’s all straight forward!). Then people come and look at the hosts blog and click on thumbnails they like the look of and then they’re taken to that particular blog. Sounds complicated when I write it down but it’s easy! Really!!

    Here’s aprevious link party (I do them about once a month):

    http://moderncountrystyle.blogspot.com/2011/07/paint-please-link-partyoh-and-my-table.html

    And here’s a list of the ones I sometimes link to on other people’s blog:

    http://moderncountrystyle.blogspot.com/2010/09/link-parties.html

    It’s a good way of getting your blog ‘out there’!

    Sarahxxxxx

    • Oh, sorry I didn’t realise! Thanks for emailing back anyway, I’ve checked out the link party links and it’s such a good idea! I shall get working on a fall blog soon 🙂 (I’ll leave this in your comments as well so you don’t miss the thanks!) Lizzy x

Leave a Reply

